Does Social Media Affect Grammar and Writing Skills?

Throughout the few years that I have been apart of the social media world, I have wondered how much it can affect people’s grammar and writing skills. I know on twitter there is an amount to how many words you can tweet, but should it affect the way you communicate with people?

From observation, I have noticed that many people abbreviate words or do not correctly punctuate or capitalize words. Is it because we do not learn grammar in our English classes anymore? Lately, I have been pondering on this question because I do not want our writing skills to decrease just because of the space capacity on social media.

Yes, social media is a way to express our feelings, thoughts, opinions, but I think we should be able to do it correctly. I read somewhere that it takes about 21 days for something to become a habit, why should this type of writing become a habit?

I am curious if the intent for social media writing was to abbreviate most words to allow more interaction. Don’t get me wrong, it is a smart thing that Twitter has as limit on words, but wouldn’t it be nice not to have to Google the abbreviations. Yes, I am that girl who has to sometimes Google abbreviations because I have no idea what they mean.

I know that our world is leaning more on social media; therefore, shouldn’t we as a community of social media be more aware of our language. I just feel that there might be a better way to get a message out by using effective writing skills or correct grammar.

This is just a topic that I have been thinking about lately because I have been noticing it more. Have you noticed that same thing? I would like to hear your thoughts.

5 comments

  1. I have definitely noticed this! I’ve never been great with grammar or comma usage, but some people are being ridiculous! The worst offenders frequently post on Facebook.

  2. I agree. I believe the way you write on social networks and the way you write/speak in a professional setting should be totally different. You should be able to turn “slang” on and off like a switch.

  3. I completely agree. Social media are making us lazier with our typing. In an effort to respond within seconds of receiving any message, we start leaving out things that would only take a moment to add. At some point, our messages are going to devolve into single letters that could have a multitude of meanings, and we’re still going to get mad at each other for misunderstanding our messages.

  4. I think that it do effect the way you write. We text and comment so much that we forget the common editing practices. When I go back and look at past tweets and messages I sometimes delete them out of shame.


Leave a Reply

